NAS! ‘Illmatic XX’ The Revisit


Blog Logo20 Years on, Nas‘ 1994 debut ‘Illmatic‘ is still considered one of the greatest hip hop albums to be released and one that contributed to the distinct revival of the New York City rap scene in the mid-late 90s. Despite selling only 59K copies in its first week of release, the album still managed to attain a wide and critical acclaim from contemporary music critics including NME, Rollings Stone, The Source and Entertainment Weekly among many others.

Tomorrow (14th April 2014), Nas will release the long awaited and expansive ‘Illmatic XX’  to celebrate the album’s 20th anniversary. ‘Illmatic XX’ includes re-mastered original recordings with unreleased cuts, demos, out takes and more. The 20 track project is, however available for free download here

With Illmatic, I was trying to make the perfect album. I was trying to make you experience my life. I wanted you to look at hip-hop differently. I wanted you to feel that hip-hop was changing and becoming something more real. I gave you what the streets felt like, what it sounded like, tasted like, felt like, all in that album. And I tried to capture it like no one else could. NAS

While Nas has already performed an ‘Illmatic’ themed Coachella show, there’s definitely more to look out for including a documentary which sheds some light on Nas’ beginnings as a rapper, including the story behind ‘Illmatic,’ its cultural impact, and lasting legacy 20 years later. You can check out the trailer below:

Disc 1: Remastered original album
1. The Genesis
2. N.Y. State Of Mind
3. Life’s A Bitch
4. The World Is Yours
5. Halftime
6. Memory Lane (Sittin’ In Da Park)
7. One Love
8. One Time 4 Your Mind
9. Represent
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell

Disc 2: Demos, Remixes & Live Radio
1. I’m A Villain (previously unreleased)
2. The Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show on WKCR October 28, 1993 (previously unreleased freestyle)
3. Halftime (Butcher Remix)
4. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (Remix)(promo single)
5. One Love (LG Main Mix)
6. Life’s A Bitch (Arsenal Mix)(promo single)
7. One Love (One L Main Mix)
8. The World Is Yours (Tip Mix)
9. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Stink Mix)(UK single)
10. It Ain’t Hard To Tell (The Laidback Remix)(UK single)