#LetsTalk | @Tafadzwa_B talks Biston Clothing and more!

Blog Logo

I would like the Biston Clothing line to illustrate the hard work I put in. I want it to represent innovation, a strong mind and thrive. When I started Biston I just wanted something people can look at and think ‘wow, he really did that’…

Now you’ll remember a few weeks back, I sat down with Shinx, a young and very dedicated entrepreneur who is the co-founder and current store manager of Cranium Wear, an urban clothing store located right in the centre of Coventry. This week, I sat down with another one of Coventry’s most promising entrepreneurs, Tafadzwa Biston, who recently launched his urban clothing line, Biston Clothing. Read on below.

Give me a brief background about yourself. What’s your name and where are you from? 

My name is Tafadzwa Biston [pron. Ta-fa-d-zwa] and I am eighteen years old. I am originally from Zimbabwe where I was born and raised until the age of 10. Since then I have been in England where I live in Coventry with my mum, dad and brothers. I am currently working for a company called IDM Print where I am one of the main graphic designers.

When did you come up with the idea of starting the Biston Clothing brand? 

I am the kind of guy who likes to broaden opportunities and I believe you have to educate yourself. I’ve always been interested in graphic design and doing things that are hands on. I also do photography and I have started my own photography business. I have been doing these two things for quite a long time and I wanted to try something new. It was when I met this girl who became a really good friend of mine when I thought of Biston. She is really interested in clothing and the more she talked about it, I started to get an interest in it. I thought photography and graphic design would link in to this project as I can convey the skills I have learnt to design and make templates for Biston clothing. From doing designs and templates for my friend’s own clothing brand I had an idea of what I wanted and how I wanted it to look like.

I had everything I wanted in mind but I had to think of a name. I thought long and hard and decided what better name to have than my own last name? The reason why I decided to use my name is because of the meaning behind it. The Bistons were effectively proactive people who were well-known for their warlike nature- their strive for success, perseverance and optimism: they were extremely hard workers. I would like for Biston clothing to illustrate the hard work put in. I want it to represent innovation, a strong mind and thrive. When I started Biston I just wanted something for people to look at and think ‘wow, he really did that’. I believe that young people in this day and age need exposure to great things that people their age have done; it will give them a sense of aspiration towards working hard to achieve what they want.

What makes your clothing line unique? What will make people buy your designs?

In terms of appearance I think what makes it unique is the fact that all the clothing I will produce will be of monochrome designs. I think the simplicity of black and white will attract people. Looking at the trends at the moment people are really high on black and white especially on street wear clothing; which is the category I would like to place my clothing in.

If you want something you have to go get it! No one else is going to do it for you.People are always out to put you down if you always take opinions to heart you will never succeed.

Tell me about the relevance of your clothing line to today’s society. What does it represent?

The Biston clothing line represents innovation and a strong mind like I previously mentioned. I believe that young people in this day and age need to be exposed to the things that other young people have done. Biston clothing does exactly that and gives young people that sense of aspiration towards achieving what they want. The appearance also has a lot of relevance to today’s society due to the designs being black and white.

When it comes to designing your own clothing line, does being graphic designer and photographer make the job much easier?

If I wasn’t a photographer or a graphic designer, I wouldn’t be doing this. I think it’s better when you’re the designer and know what you want so when you visualize something, that’s what you put onto the screen. If I had asked someone else to do the designs, they probably wouldn’t have come up with how I want the designs to look like. I believe I can see things differently; I can capture that moment and that’s what makes it easier.

Tell me a little about your advertising strategies?

Knowing the right people is the key strategy. Getting people that are known and into the same stuff as you to promote it on social networking sites is a good form of advertising. Also I think that word of mouth will play a strong role in my advertising because people talk about this sort of stuff and it takes very little time for the next person to know about something.

What does the future hold for the Biston clothing line? What can we expect to see?

At the moment I have only produced T-Shirts for the Biston Clothing line and in the future I want to look into producing other clothing items such as sweatshirts, hoodies and hats. I have also thought to format an agency scheme where Biston offers other services such as photography, media and more! These will fall under the name ‘Biston’ e.g. Biston clothing, Biston Photography and Biston Media Productions.

Any advice for aspiring young entrepreneurs like yourself?

If you want something you have to go get it! No one else is going to do it for you. People are always out to put you down if you always take opinions to heart you will never succeed. Even though you’re in charge of what you’re doing, always remember that it was God that brought you to think of this idea and is always going to lead you down the right path. Keep your faith in him and you’re likely to go very far with your idea.

Finally, where can readers find more about you and your work?

You can find out more about the Biston Clothing line here.

Instagram: @Tafadzwa_B

Facebook: Tafadzwa Biston Photography

Twitter: @Tafadzwa_B

                                                                                                                       

Vaughan [@ShakaVaughan]

Photo Credits: bistonclothing.co.uk